Nestled in a lush green cove along the banks of beautiful Factory Creek stands historic Falls Mill. Built in 1873 as a cotton and woolen factory, the mill was later converted for use as a cotton gin, then as a woodworking shop. Today the water wheel powers millstones that grind cornmeal, flour, and grits.
Falls Mill is open to the public for tours each day except Wednesday. Visitors begin with an introductory history of the mill, then take a self-guided tour of the building and scenic grounds. Comfortable walking shoes are recommended.
Antique machinery related to the mill’s history is exhibited on two floors of the building. The millstones, printing press, and the ever-popular dog-powered butter churn are on the first floor. The country store and weaving room are on the second floor. Hand looms, spinning wheels, and a rare collection of 19th century power looms and wool carding machines are on display.
Guests who wish to stay overnight may call to reserve this cozy 1895 log cabin, fully furnished with all the comforts of home. The first floor has a queen size sleeper sofa, fireplace, Dish Network TV, and a DVD player and a VCR with a collection of movies.
The kitchen is stocked with homemade bread, muffins, and coffeecake, fruit, cereal, juice, coffee, and tea, as well as ham and eggs. We even supply sample bags of our fresh ground grits and pancake mix for our guests to try.
The second floor loft has a queen bed, a single bed, and the bathroom with a small shower. The cabin has electric heat and is air-conditioned for your comfort.
Renters must be at least 21 years old. The rate is $110.00 plus tax per night for one or two people and the cabin sleeps a maximum of 5. Each extra person is an additional $5.00. The tax rate is 14.25%.