Forestry

The Tennessee Department of Agriculture’s Division of Forestry will require a debris burn permit for leaf and brush piles starting today and continuing through May 15, 2022.

Debris burn permits for leaf and brush piles are available at no charge via the MyTN mobile app or online at www.BurnSafeTN.org.

Online permits can be obtained daily from 8 a.m. to 11 p.m. for any size of leaf and brush burn pile.

Each pile should be completely out by the permit expiration.

For larger, broadcast burning, such as forestry, agricultural, and land clearing, call the Division of Forestry burn permit phone number at 877-350-BURN (2876) Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

If you have limited access to the internet, this number can also be used for a debris burn permit, but callers can expect lengthy wait times when call volume is high.

Permits are issued only when conditions are conducive to safe burning. If you live inside city limits, check with your municipality for additional restrictions before you burn.

A list of materials that are not allowed to be burned can be found from the Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation at www.tn.gov/environment/program-areas/apc-air-pollution-control-home/apc/open-burning.html.

Burning without a permit is a class C misdemeanor and punishable by up to 30 days in jail and/or a fine.

Wildfires caused by arson are a class C felony punishable by three to 15 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines.

Anyone with information about suspected arson activity should call the state Fire Marshal’s Arson Hotline at 1-800-762-3017.

The hotline is answered 24 hours a day, and callers may remain anonymous. Cash awards are offered for information leading to an arrest or conviction. Call 1-888-891-TDEC to report illegal burning.

Visit www.BurnSafeTN.org for additional tips.