Early voting clip art

Early voting has begun at the Franklin County Election Commission Office with voters staring to cast their ballots as of Wednesday

The Election Commission office at 839 Dinah Shore Blvd. in Winchester will be open from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. on weekdays until the early voting period ends on Feb. 25.

The office will also be open from 8 a.m. until noon on Saturday and during the same hours on Feb. 22.

 Voters will be deciding on presidential candidates in the Republican and Democratic primary elections plus party delegates.

There are only two local races in which voters will be deciding on candidates.

The first involves unchallenged Republican Glenn T. Summers Sr. for County Commissioner District 8, Seat A, a position formerly held by Don Cofer, who resigned due to health issues.

The County Commission recently appointed Independent Christopher Smith to fill the position temporarily until the county general election on Aug. 6 when Smith will face opposition from Summers and Independent David A. Morris.

No candidates filed petitions for the District 8, Seat A position in the March 3 Democratic primary.

The other primary race involves incumbent Republican Assessor of Property Bruce Spencer, who is being challenged by Republican Jeannie L. Bates.

No Democratic candidates filed petitions for the assessor of property position.

For further information, contact the Election Commission office at 931-967-1893.