Early voting long lines

Voters, clad in protective masks, wait in line to cast ballots Wednesday afternoon at the Franklin County Election Commission's office in a record turnout for the first day of the early voting period.

Mirroring a nationwide pattern with early voters in long lines waiting to cast ballots, Franklin County experienced a record turnout Wednesday.

A total of 1,274 voters cast their ballots during early voting’s first day.

Administrator of Elections Margaret Ottley said the turnout was the largest she could recall.

Early voting extends to Oct. 29 at the Franklin County Election Commission Office, 839 Dinah Shore Blvd., Winchester, which is open from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. on weekdays.

The office will be open from 8 a.m. to noon on the two early voting Saturdays, Oct. 17 and Oct. 24.

On Election Day, Nov. 3, voters will go to their respective precincts, which will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Absentee ballots can be requested from the Election Commission Office by calling 931-967-1893 or by going to the commission’s website at www.sos-tn-gov-files.tnsosfiles.com/Absentee%20Ballot%20Request%20Form.pdf.

The last day to request absentee ballots is Oct. 27. However, Ottley advises going through the process much earlier.

“The sooner the better,” she said.

The only Franklin County races on the ballot involve the Monteagle Town Council, which has mayor and aldermen positions up for grabs.

Vice Mayor Anthony “Tony” Gilliam, an independent, is running for the mayor’s position which is being vacated by David Sampley. Gilliam is being challenged by Independent Marilyn Campbell Rodman.

Alderman candidates include incumbent Jessica D. Blalock, Jessica Favaloro, incumbent Kenneth Gipson, John Kelly Layne, Janet Miller-Schmidt, Jeffery O’Neal, Dorraine Parmley, Ronald M. Terrill, Jodean Wade and W. Nathan Wilson. All are Independents.

The ballot includes federal and state races with Republican President Donald Trump and Vice President Mike Pence being challenged by Democratic presidential candidate Joe Biden and his vice president running mate, Kamala Harris.

The ballot also includes respective Independent president and vice president candidates Don Blankenship and William Mohr; Roque “Rocky” De La Fuente and Darcy G. Richardson; Howie Hawkins and Angela Walker; Joe Jorgensen and Jeremy “Spike” Cohen; Alyson Kennedy and Malcolm Jarrett; Gloria La Riva and Sunil Freeman; and Kanye West and Michelle Tidball.

The ballot includes 11 candidates vying for the U.S. Senate seat being vacated by Republican Lamar Alexander.

They include Republican Bill Hagerty, Democrat Marquita Bradshaw and Independents Yomi “Fapas” Faparusi Sr., Jeffrey Alan Grunau, Ronnie Henley, G. Dean Hill, Steven J. Hooper, Aaron James, Elizabeth McLeod and Eric William Stansberry.

Fourth District U.S. Rep. Scott DesJarlais, a Republican, is being challenged by Democrat Christopher J. Hale.

District 16 State Sen. Janice Bowling, a Republican, is being challenged by Democrat Sheila Younglove.

District 39 State Rep. Iris Rudder, a Republican, is unchallenged as is Todd Warner, the Republican nominee for the House District 92 seat.

After early voting concludes, those who haven’t voted will have to go on Election Day to their respective polling districts and precincts listed on their voter registration cards.

Precincts will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. to accommodate Election Day voters.

Here’s where to go to cast ballots, according to voter registration cards:

▪ 101 Franklin County Annex, 839 Dinah Shore Blvd., Suite 1, Winchester, TN 37398

▪ 201 Clark Memorial School, 500 North Jefferson St., Winchester, TN 37398

▪ 301 Broadview School, 4980 Lynchburg Road, Winchester, TN 37398

▪ 302 Huntland Community Center, 100 Moore Lane. Huntland, TN 37345

▪ 303 Walnut Grove Methodist Church Gym, 980 Walnut Grove Road, Belvidere, TN 37306

▪ 401 Belvidere Community Center, 349 Belvidere Road, Belvidere, TN 37306

▪ 402 Cowan Elementary School, 501 Cumberland St. E., Cowan, TN 37318

▪ 403 Liberty Community Center, 3251 Holders Cemetery Road, Winchester, TN 37398

▪ 501 Keith Springs Community Center, 219 Iron Gap Road, Belvidere, TN 37306

▪ 502 Sewanee Elementary School, 209 University Ave., Sewanee, TN 37375

▪ 503 Sherwood Community Center, 10225 Sherwood Road, Sherwood, TN 37376

▪ 601 Alto/Oak Grove Fire Department, 8375 Old Alto Hwy., Decherd, TN 37324

▪ 602 Capitol Hill Community Center, 5601 AEDC Road, Estill Springs, TN 37330

▪ 603 UTSI/FC Business Development Center, 1940 Elk River Dam Road, Tullahoma, TN 37388

▪ 701 North Lake Elementary School, 10626 Old Tullahoma Hwy., Tullahoma, TN 37388

▪ 702 Center Grove/Winchester Springs Water District, 40 Pleasant Grove Road, Estill Springs, TN 37330

▪ 801 Decherd Elementary School, 401 S. Bratton St., Decherd, TN 37324

▪ 802 Estill Springs Community Center, 202 Eastbrook Road, Estill Springs, TN 37330

For further information, call the Election Commission Office at 931-967-1893 or visit the Commission’s website at www.franklincotn.us/election_commission.html.