Franklin County Courthouse image

Following Franklin County District 8, Seat A Commissioner Don Cofer’s resignation, three candidates have qualified to be on ballots in upcoming elections to fill the spot

Glenn T. Summers Sr. of Decherd qualified to be in the Republican primary election on March 3, and Independents David A. Morris and Christopher R. Smith, both from Decherd, will be vying for the position on the Aug. 6 general election ballot.

No candidates filed petitions for the District 8, Seat A position in the March 3 Democratic primary.

Cofer resigned on Jan. 2 due to health reasons, and the full County Commission is expected to fill his vacant seat until a replacement is made during the Aug. 6 general election.

County Mayor David Alexander said his office received the Jan. 2-dated resignation letter the following morning, which officially opened up the position.

In the meantime leading up to the Aug. 6 general election, the full commission is expected to decide on a temporary replacement at its next meeting at 7 p.m. on Jan. 21 at the Courthouse.

Alexander said that, traditionally, the other district’s commissioner makes a nomination for a temporary candidate, and the commission votes to approve the position. In this case, Sam Hiles holds the District 8, Seat B position.

Alexander said other commissioners could nominate candidates, but the commission has usually gone with the nomination of the commissioner from the same district.

Administrator of Elections Margaret Ottley said the qualifying deadline for the open commissioner position was Wednesday, and a withdrawal deadline has been set for Saturday at noon.

Ottley said the short time window results from the timing of Cofer’s resignation.

Recommended for you