Election update

Administrator of Elections Margaret Ottley and Assistant Administrator Dianne Zimmerman, at voting machine, go through the motions to test the device on Wednesday leading up to the Aug. 6 state primary and county general elections.


The Fourth of July weekend serves as a reminder that the last day to register to vote to participate in the Aug. 6 state primary and Franklin County general elections is Tuesday.

Voters may register at the Franklin County Election Commission Office at 839 Dinah Shore Boulevard in Winchester on Monday and Tuesday from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. The office is closed Friday due to the Fourth of July holiday.

Also as a reminder, early voting will be held at the Election Commission office on July 17 from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. and on July 18 from 8 a.m. to noon.

The 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. time frame will continue on July 20-24 and again from 8 a.m. to noon on July 25.

Early voting will also take place from 8 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. on July 27 and from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. on July 28-31.

Early voting ends on Aug. 1 from 8 a.m. to noon.

For further information, call the Election Commission at 931-967-1893.

The election involves state Republican and Democratic primary races.

On the Republican side, Lamar Alexander, Tennessee’s senior U.S. senator, is not seeking re-election for the position he has held since 2003, and 15 candidates are vying for the open seat on the Aug. 6 Republican primary ballot.

Republican candidates include Clifford Adkins, Natisha Brooks, Byron Bush, Roy Dale Cope, Terry Dicus, Tom Emerson Jr., George S. Flinn Jr., Bill Hagerty, Jon Henry, Kent A. Morrell, Glen L. Neal Jr., John E. Osborne, Aaron L. Pettigrew, David Schuster and Manny Sethi.

Democrats running for U.S. Senate in the Primary Election include Marquita Bradshaw, Gary G. Davis, Robin Kimbrough, James Mackler and Mark Pickrell.

Incumbent Republican District 4 U.S. Rep. Scott DesJarlais is being challenged by Doug Meyer and Randy A. Sharp.

Noelle Bivens and Christopher J. Hale are vying for the District 4 Democratic position in the primary.

Unchallenged Tennessee District 16 Sen. Janice Bowling is also listed on the ballot.

Sheila Younglove is running unchallenged in the Democratic primary for the Tennessee Senate District 16 seat.

Bowling and Younglove will face each other on the Nov. 3 state general election ballot.

Republican District 39 House Rep. Iris Rudder is unchallenged. No candidate qualified on the District 39 Democratic side, so Rudder will face no opposition on Nov. 3.

Incumbent House District 92 Rep. Rick Tillis is being challenged by Vincent A. Cuevas and Todd Warner.

No Democratic candidates are running for the Tennessee House District 92 seat in the primary election.

Bobby E. Bush Jr. is running unchallenged for the District 16 state executive committeeman position.

In the county general election, incumbent District 8, Seat A Commissioner Christopher R. Smith, who was appointed by the County Commission to fill the unexpired term of Don Cofer, who resigned for health reasons, is being challenged by Republican Glenn T. Summers Sr. and Independent David A. Morris.

Franklin County also has six unchallenged School Board positions on the ballot.

Candidates include Linda M. Jones in District 2, Chris Guess in District 4, Sarah Marhevsky in District 5, CleiJo Walker in District 6, Caycee Hanger Roberts in District 7 and Sara Liechty in District 8.